Mohamad Sabu is Amanah president

Diyana Ibrahim

Mohamad Sabu has been elected as president of Amanah for a third and final three-year term. – The Malaysian Insight file pic, December 24, 2023.

MOHAMAD Sabu has been elected again as president of Amanah for a third and final three-year term that will end in 2026.

Senator Mujahid Yusof, who was previously mentioned as a presidential contender, was named deputy president. 

Their selection was made at a meeting of Amanah’s new 27-member national leadership committee and was voted on by more than 1,000 delegates at the party’s convention today. 

Health Minister Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad led the list of 27 elected leaders by winning 900 votes. 

Mohamad Sabu, who is also the minister of agriculture and food security, was in eighth position with 613 votes while Mujahid was in fourth place with 699 votes. 

Amanah does not use a leadership selection system where candidates compete for positions. Instead, office holders are selected by selected committee members.

The president, deputy president, and vice president posts are selected from among the 27 individuals with the highest votes in a meeting held after the announcement of the election results. 

Mohamad Sabu, in his adjournment speech, urged the newly appointed leaders to strive to strengthen the party and continue its cooperation with Pakatan Harapan and Barisan Nasional (BN). 

“Amanah’s strength depends on coalitions, so our relationships with PKR, DAP and now with BN, as well as parties in Sabah and Sarawak, are crucial. 

“Therefore, the leaders who will lead the party in the future must find ways to strengthen the coalitions because any cracks in the coalitions will be detrimental to Amanah in the future,” he added.  

Meanwhile, Mujahid said the appointment was a “heavy responsibility” but pledged to work with the new leadership to ensure the party remained strong in the country’s political arena.  

“The results were challenging but were guided by the Rahmah concept that we practise.  

“The delegates had expressed their intentions, and we respect the votes given,” he said in his adjournment speech. 

The following are the party’s National Leadership Committee members for the 2023-2026 term: 

1. Mohamad Sabu (President)

2. Mujahid Yusof (Deputy President) 

3. Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad (Vice President) 

4. Adly Zahari (Vice President) 

5. Dr Siti Mariah Mahmud (Vice President) 

6. Khalid Abd Samad  

7. Azli Yusof 

8. Mahfuz Omar 

9. Suhaizan Kaiat 

10. Hasan Bahrom 

11. Raja Kamarul Bahrin Shah Raja Ahmad 

12. Dr Mohd Hatta Ramli  

13. Muhammad Faiz Fadzil 

14. Mohd Sany Hamzan 

15. Anfaal Saari 

16. Izham Hashim 

17. Ismail Salleh 

18. Ahmad Sabki Yusof  

19. Lahirul Latigu 

20. Ahmad Termizi Ramli  

21. Asmuni Awi  

22. Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin  

23. Ridzwan Abu Bakar  

24. Mohd Sofi Abdul Wahab 

25. Wan Anwar Wan Ibrahim 

26. Muhaimin Sulam  

27. Abang Ahmad Kerdee Abang Masagus. – December 24, 2023.

Sign up or sign in here to comment.