Esszone curfew extends to January 21

The curfew in the Eastern Sabah Security Zone has been extended to January 21. – EPA file pic, January 5, 2020.

THE curfew in the waters off seven districts in the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (Esszone) that ends tomorrow has been extended to January 21, said Sabah police commissioner Omar Mammah.

Omar, in a statement today, said the curfew from 6pm to 6am covered areas of Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran.

He said with the enforcement of the curfew, people living in the area are required to remain indoors while outsiders are not allowed to enter the waters between 6pm and 6am during this period.

“The curfew is extended to ensure that the area is not encroached upon by terrorists who can threaten the security of researchers and foreign tourists visiting the resort islands.

“It is also to ensure the safety and well-being of Sabahans living in the Esszone.”

Omar said the curfew will facilitate the enforcement and monitoring of boat movements, while the presence of security vessels provide a sense of security for chalet operators and fishermen in the area.

“I have also authorised all the district police chiefs at Esszone to issue permits to eligible applicants for the purpose of fishing activities or to attend urgent matters during the curfew.” – Bernama, January 5, 2020.

Sign up or sign in here to comment.