Nicholas Chan

A Forensic Science-Asian Studies hybrid, Nicholas Chan is interested in how authority is shaped, exercised, and more importantly, resisted in Southeast Asia.


Tuesday, 19 Oct 2021 12:00 PM

In a hotter world, many more of us are on the frontline

Thursday, 12 Aug 2021 12:00 PM

We need a working theory on the Covid-positive cases with a vaccination history

We need a working theory on the Covid-positive cases with a vaccination history

Tuesday, 01 Jun 2021 12:01 PM

Is Perikatan a crisis, popular, or populist government?

1 comment

Is Perikatan a crisis, popular, or populist government?

Thursday, 15 Apr 2021 12:00 PM

The politics of antara dua darjat

Malaysia is in danger of succumbing to celebrity politics, where popularity is not defined by policy.

1 comment

The politics of antara dua darjat

Tuesday, 19 Jan 2021 11:59 AM

The politics of ‘good people on both sides’

The politics of ‘good people on both sides’


Tuesday, 15 Dec 2020 12:00 PM

Rethinking higher education in the age of black swan events

Tertiary education needs to be reformed in order to face major disruptions in the future.

Rethinking higher education in the age of black swan events

Sunday, 25 Oct 2020 12:00 PM

The pandemic and the politics of (in)competence

Lessons from US, UK show that surrendering democratic politics means surrendering control over fact, fiction.

The pandemic and the politics of (in)competence

Sunday, 13 Sep 2020 12:00 PM

Untangling racism, monolingualism, racial segregation

2 comments

Untangling racism, monolingualism, racial segregation

Tuesday, 28 Jul 2020 12:00 PM

Politics a two-faced beast

Politics a two-faced beast

Thursday, 11 Jun 2020 12:00 PM

To platform or not?

To platform or not?

Monday, 04 May 2020 12:00 PM

Pandemic response fuelled by feel-good nationalism

Pandemic response fuelled by feel-good nationalism

Tuesday, 31 Mar 2020 12:00 PM

Expertise, leadership and Covid-19

2 comments

Expertise, leadership and Covid-19

Thursday, 09 Jan 2020 02:30 PM

‘Non-politician’ not silver bullet for education woes

‘Non-politician’ not silver bullet for education woes

Thursday, 14 Nov 2019 07:00 AM

Talking terror beyond Tamil Tigers, IS

Talking terror beyond Tamil Tigers, IS

Sunday, 06 Oct 2019 07:00 AM

The strength to carry Weight of Our Sky

The strength to carry Weight of Our Sky