Appointment of anti-corruption committee shows govt’s intent on busting graft

Bentong lawmaker Young Syefura Othman receives her appointment letter to be the Special Committee on Corruption from Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim at the Parliament today. – Facebook pic, November 28, 2023.

PRIME Minister Anwar Ibrahim described the appointment of five members to the Special Committee on Corruption today as proof of the Madani government’s continued efforts to fight corruption in the country.

He also expressed hope that the newly appointed members, who will serve for three years effective October 9 this year till October 8, 2026, will carry out their duties with fairness, humility and impartiality.

“I believe the committee members will serve virtuously in stamping out corruption,” he posted on his official Facebook page today.

Anwar had presented the appointment letters to Dewan Negara president Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar as committee chairman, Paya Besar MP Mohd Shahar Abdullah, Batang Lupar MP Mohd Shafizan Kepli, Tawau MP Lo Su Fui and Bentong MP Young Syefura Othman at the Parliament building, witnessed by Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) chief commissioner Azam Baki.

All five members were appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong with the role of advising the prime minister on the various aspects related to corruption in the country and to inspect the MACC annual report. – Bernama, November 28, 2023.

Sign up or sign in here to comment.