Penang chief minister Kon Yeow sworn in for second term

Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow arrives at the Penang governor's residence to be sworn in for the second term, today. – Facebook pic, August 13, 2023.

PENANG Pakatan Harapan chairman Chow Kon Yeow was sworn in today as the chief minister.

The PH-Barisan Nasional pact secured a two-thirds majority win in the state polls last night

In the elections yesterday, PH won 29 of the 40 state seats in Penang, leaving Perikatan Nasional with 11. 

Chow kept the Padang Kota seat for the fourth consecutive term after obtaining a majority of 7,116 votes.

DAP won all of the 19 seats in contested in Penang while PKR stood in 13 seats but only won seven. Amanah also lost one of its two seats, Permatang Pasir, and BN which contested six seats but lost four of them.

PH’s losses were Perikatan Nasional’s gains. The predominantly Malay-Muslim coalition made inroads into the DAP stronghold to snatch seats with a Malay majority.

In the 2018 general election, PH won 37 out of the 40 state seats.

Sign up or sign in here to comment.