Ku Li retains Gua Musang Umno chief post

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah becomes Malaysia’s longest-serving party division chief after retaining the post in Gua Musang Umno today. – The Malaysian Insight file pic, March 18, 2023.

UMNO veteran Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah has been returned as Gua Musang division chief, a post he has held since 1962.

Tengku Razaleigh, who is popularly known as Ku Li, garnered 453 votes while challengers Che Mohd Izani Che Musa and Datuk Saari Lembut obtained 46 and five votes respectively.

Tengku Razaleigh first held the post at the age of 25, making him Malaysia’s longest-serving party division chief.

The contest for the 2023-2026 term was only the second time Tengku Razaleigh had been challenged for the post.

IN NEGRI SEMBILAN, Umno deputy president Mohamad Hasan also retained the Rembau division chief’s post after winning it uncontested. He has held the post since 2003.

IN KEDAH, Umno vice-president Mahdzir Khalid successfully defended the Padang Terap division chief’s post.

IN KELANTAN, state Umno chairman Ahmad Jazlan Yaakub faced no challengers and retained the Machang division chief’s post.

Also retaining their division chief’s posts uncontested were deputy chairman Mohd Fatmi Mohd Salleh (Kota Baru division), Zawawi Othman (Pasir Puteh), Kok Lanas assemblyman Md Alwi Che Ahmad (Ketereh) and Zaluzi Sulaiman (Pengkalan Chepa). 

IN TERENGGANU, state Umno chairman Ahmad Said successfully defended his Kemaman Umno division chief post for the 2023-2026 term today.

The former Terengganu menteri besar and Kijal assemblyman obtained 401 votes, defeating his challenger, Mohamed Rahim Hussin, who secured 286 votes.

IN PAHANG, Dewan Rakyat Deputy Speaker Ramli Mohd Nor won the Cameron Highlands vice-chief post uncontested while former deputy finance minister Mohd Shahar Abdullah was elected Paya Besar Umno division chief.

IN JOHOR, Umno secretary-general Ahmad Maslan beat former Johor menteri besar Hasni Mohammad as Pontian Umno division chief. 

Ahmad, 56, who was division vice-chief since 2008, won 388 votes against his rival’s 291.

Meanwhile, Azalina Othman Said defended her post as Pengerang Umno division chief held since 2008, obtaining 261 votes against her rival, businessman Mhd Tahir Mohd Noah, who managed only 10 votes.

Lokman Noor Adam, who was just reinstated to the party a month ago, lost to Mohd Lassim Burhan for the Sri Gading Umno division chief post.

Lassim, the previous division vice-chief, obtained 333 votes against Lokman’s 169.

IN KEDAH, former menteri besar Ahmad Bashah Md Hanipah made a successful comeback by winning the Alor Star Umno division chief position, beating his rival, acting division chief Zambri Mat.

According to unofficial results, Mohd Nazifuddin, the son of former prime minister Najib Razak, has won the Langkawi Umno division chief post, beating his rival, former Kuah assemblyman Nor Saidi Nanyan, by 12 votes. – Bernama, March 18, 2023.

Sign up or sign in here to comment.