GPS reps next in line to meet king over PM choice

Desmond Davidson

Barisan Nasional chairman Ahmad Zahid Hamidi leads the coalition's delegation meeting the king today over the selection of a prime minister. – The Malaysian Insight pic by Nazir Sufari, November 23, 2022.

GABUNGAN Parti Sarawak representatives have been summoned to meet the king as the search for a prime minister continues today.

A source in the state ruling coalition would not go into details of the meeting but told The Malaysian Insight the Agong wanted to meet at 11.30am.

Malaysiakini, quoting another source, said GPS would send five MPs – one from each of its four component parties – led by its chief whip Fadillah Yusof.

Richard Riot of Sarawak United People’s Party), Aaron Ago Dagang of Parti Rakyat Sarawak, and Alexander Nanta Linggi of Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu are the other MPs in the deputation.

The Progressive Democratic Party representative was not named in the report. 

Meanwhile, Barisan Nasional lawmakers have arrived at Istana Negara to meet the king.

Mohamad Hasan is among the 30 Barisan Nasional lawmakers who have an appointment with the Agong today. – The Malaysian Insight pic by Nazir Sufari, November 23, 2022.

BN chairman Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, secretary-general Zambry Abd Kadir and deputy chairman Mohamad Hasan were among the delegates spotted around 10.45am.

The 30 BN lawmakers were called to the palace after Perikatan Nasional chairman Muhyuddin Yassin declined the king’s request for his coalition to form a unity government with Pakatan Harapan.

Following the meeting, PH chairman Anwar Ibrahim indicated a willingness to accede to the king’s wishes with any of the parties.

In the general election, PH won 76 seats while its coalition member Sarawak DAP collected five and Muda one, for a total of 82. 

PN and PAS won 51 and 22 seats, respectively, for a combined total of 73. 

BN could only muster 30 seats.

Gabungan Parti Sarawak claimed 23 seats, Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (6), Warisan (3), Parti Bangsa Malaysia (1) and Independents (2). – November 23, 2022.


Sign up or sign in here to comment.