Zahid asks speaker for time to collate BN sworn statements of support

Kalidevi Mogan Kumarappa

Barisan Nasional chairman Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (left) and Umno vice-president Ismail Sabri Yaakob settle down for a press call following a meeting between their coalition and Pakatan Harapan. – The Malaysian Insight pic by Afif Abd Halim, November 21, 2020.

AHMAD Zahid Hamidi has asked the Dewan Rakyat speaker for collate the sworn declarations of Barisan Nasional MPs on whom the coalition is backing to form the federal government.

The Barisan Nasional chairman said more time is needed for BN to negotiate.

“After our supreme council has negotiated with other parties, we will send the statutory declarations to the speaker.

“We’re just asking for the 2pm deadline to be extended. Let us have some flexibility,” he said at a press conference after a meeting with PH leaders this morning.

Zahid said party rules dictated that only the BN supreme council could make alliance decisions for its lawmakers.

He said it was illegal for BN MPs to individually submit sworn declarations to the speaker in support of a prime minister post-election.

“This goes against the SDs signed by BN candidates before the general election,” he said.

BN leaders had earlier met with Pakatan Harapan chairman Anwar Ibrahim.

Though the coalition leaders did not disclose what transpired in the conference, it was clear they were there to discuss allying for a majority.

Twenty-six BN lawmakers were present at today’s meeting. Hishammuddin Hussein (Sembrong), Jalaluddin Alias (Jelebu) and Adnan Abu Hassan (Kuala Pilah) were among the absentees.

Following the meeting, Hishammuddin repeated his refusal to work with PH.

“I reiterate that I am against working with Pakatan Harapan. I would rather be sacked from the party rather change my position, which is no Anwar, no DAP.

“If anyone wants to sack me for holding this position, go ahead,” he wrote on Facebook.

Today’s meeting was held amid reports BN had agreed to form the state governments of Perak and Pahang with PH.

PH has 24 seats in Perak while BN has nine. Perikatan Nasional has 26 seats. Perak has a 59-seat assembly.

In Pahang BN has 16 seats, PH (8) while PN (17). – November 21, 2022.

Sign up or sign in here to comment.