Azmyl Yunor

Azmyl Yunor is a touring underground recording artiste, and an academic in media and cultural studies. He has published articles on pop culture, subcultures and Malaysian cultural politics. He adheres to the three-chords-and-the-truth school of songwriting, and Woody Guthrie’s maxim “All you can write is what you see”. He is @azmyl on Twitter.


Friday, 18 Mar 2022 12:00 PM

Let’s get physical

Let’s get physical

Friday, 11 Mar 2022 12:00 PM

Stop growing, already

Stop growing, already

Friday, 04 Mar 2022 12:00 PM

Mayor, mayor, pants on fire

Mayor, mayor, pants on fire

Friday, 25 Feb 2022 11:59 AM

Good old homegrown Malaysian complacency

Good old homegrown Malaysian complacency

Friday, 18 Feb 2022 12:00 PM

Only the boring get bored

Only the boring get bored


Friday, 11 Feb 2022 12:00 PM

Life is not a movie… or is it?

Life is not a movie… or is it?

Friday, 04 Feb 2022 12:00 PM

Are we not men?

Are we not men?

Friday, 28 Jan 2022 12:00 PM

The thin line between sportsmanship and standing up against an exploitative system

Friday, 21 Jan 2022 12:00 PM

Life in the app-surd world

Life in the app-surd world

Friday, 14 Jan 2022 12:08 PM

Monkey see, monkey do

Monkey see, monkey do

Friday, 07 Jan 2022 12:00 PM

The waves of change

The waves of change

Friday, 31 Dec 2021 12:00 PM

A tribute to a true Malaysian troubadour

A tribute to a true Malaysian troubadour

Friday, 24 Dec 2021 12:00 PM

Remember December 18, 2021, Malaysia

Remember December 18, 2021, Malaysia

Friday, 17 Dec 2021 12:00 PM

Borders, chopsticks and adaptation

Borders, chopsticks and adaptation

Friday, 10 Dec 2021 12:00 PM

The stories we tell ourselves

The stories we tell ourselves