Sultan Abdullah is 16th Agong

Kamal Ariffin Hasnoor Hussain

SULTAN Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah of Pahang was sworn in today as the new Yang di-Pertuan Agong in a ceremony steeped in tradition at Istana Negara, Kuala Lumpur.

Sultan Abdullah succeeds Sultan Muhammad V of Kelantan, who stepped down as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong on January 6 after having reigned for more than two years of the five-year term from December 13, 2016.

Malaysia is one of 43 nations with a constitutional monarchy but the role of the supreme ruler is rotated among nine Malay rulers, which is unique in the world. – January 31, 2019.

Sign up or sign in here to comment.