Azmyl Yunor

Azmyl Yunor is a touring underground recording artiste, and an academic in media and cultural studies. He has published articles on pop culture, subcultures and Malaysian cultural politics. He adheres to the three-chords-and-the-truth school of songwriting, and Woody Guthrie’s maxim “All you can write is what you see”. He is @azmyl on Twitter.


Friday, 20 May 2022 12:00 PM

A tribute to a rare Malaysian academic-troubadour

A tribute to a rare Malaysian academic-troubadour

Friday, 13 May 2022 12:00 PM

Flying (and rockin') in a freer world

Flying (and rockin') in a freer world

Friday, 06 May 2022 12:00 PM

Happy modest Raya

Happy modest Raya

Friday, 29 Apr 2022 12:00 PM

Why does it always rain on me?

Why does it always rain on me?

Friday, 22 Apr 2022 12:00 PM

The divine is creative

1 comment

The divine is creative


Friday, 15 Apr 2022 12:00 PM

Hang Tuah and other fragments of imagined history

Friday, 08 Apr 2022 12:00 AM

A conversation with a Malaysian Book

A conversation with a Malaysian Book

Friday, 01 Apr 2022 12:00 PM

A conversation with a Malaysian Song

A conversation with a Malaysian Song

Friday, 25 Mar 2022 12:00 AM

A conversation with a Malaysian Film

A conversation with a Malaysian Film

Friday, 18 Mar 2022 12:00 PM

Let’s get physical

Let’s get physical

Friday, 11 Mar 2022 12:00 PM

Stop growing, already

Stop growing, already

Friday, 04 Mar 2022 12:00 PM

Mayor, mayor, pants on fire

Mayor, mayor, pants on fire

Friday, 25 Feb 2022 11:59 AM

Good old homegrown Malaysian complacency

Good old homegrown Malaysian complacency

Friday, 18 Feb 2022 12:00 PM

Only the boring get bored

Only the boring get bored

Friday, 11 Feb 2022 12:00 PM

Life is not a movie… or is it?

Life is not a movie… or is it?