Drink is non-alcoholic, but still non-Halal, says Heineken

Bottles of Heineken 0.0 beer at its production line in Den Bosch, The Netherlands in 2017. – EPA pic, July 14, 2019.

HEINEKEN Malaysia Bhd has given its assurance that its new alcohol-free beverage is not marketed to Muslims and that it has made efforts to clearly mark the product as non-Halal. 

In a statement dated yesterday, the brewer said the Heineken 0.0 drink would be available only at non-Halal zones of supermarkets and convenience stores, with signs clearly indicating that the drink is only for non-Muslims, aged 21 and above.

Effective July 2018, access to full reports will only be available with a subscription. Sign-up now and enjoy one (1) week free access!

Subscribe Now!

Sign up or sign in here to comment.


  • If it is non alcoholic then it should be ok for Muslims to consume I believe.

    Posted 7 months ago by Luke Skywalker

    • Even if not, I say it's OK for them to consume it if they wish. No need to pretend piety

      Posted 7 months ago by Watchdog Watchdog

  • alamak. now, even non alcoholic beer also can confuse the muslim?

    Posted 7 months ago by . .

  • Take it like tapai lah

    Posted 7 months ago by Tanahair Ku

  • Good clarification

    Posted 7 months ago by Lan Lan